The Bridges Street Market retains much of its original character and appearance, representing one of the very few surviving examples of the Bauhaus architectural style in Hong Kong. The building reveals a valuable history and story of the first and once vibrant public market places of the territory. Opened in 1953, the market housed 60 stalls selling fish, meats, fruits and vegetables. As the first post-war market of its kind, the building holds an important place in the architectural timeline of Hong Kong.
Since the 1910s this place at the junction of Reclamation Street and Waterloo Road, Yau Ma Tei, has started in the form of straw sheds as a market of vegetables, seafood and fruits. It is not until 1930s that the permanent buildings of 2-3 storeys were built. They were constructed in block and brickwork with external renderings and roof tiles. The Market with the original features could still be seen now among the later addition. Since then, it has gone through expansion and maintenance alterations, which results in the current combination of original building block, feature façade and patches of galvanized-iron & light gauge metal panels & framing. After the 60s, the Market has been used solely as Yau Ma Tei Wholesale Fruit Market.